Search This Blog

Sunday, 22 July 2012


Bermuda is a British overseas territory in the Northwest Atlantic Ocean, consisting of an area of 21 sq miles.

A 16th century Spanish navigator, Juan de Bermudez, first discovered the islands in 1503 - but Spanish ships refused to dock there, believing it to be haunted by devils.

Bermuda is Britain's oldest colony. The islands were settled by English colonists in 1609 and officially taken by the crown in 1684.

The islands became a British colony following the 1707 unification of the parliaments of Scotland and England, which created the Kingdom of Great Britain.  It is now the oldest and most populous remaining British Overseas Territory.

As a British colony, Bermuda was home to a penal colony that housed 9,000 British and Irish prisoners in the mid-19th century.

Bermuda Day, a celebration of Bermuda's heritage held every year on May 24th. The first Bermuda Day was in 1979 and replaced Empire Day, which was also on May 24, celebrating Queen Victoria's birthday on that date.

Bermuda has the only national flag that displays a sinking ship. It represents the 1609 sinking of Sea Venture, which led to the British settlement there.

There are no rental cars in Bermuda.

Bermuda has more golf courses per person than any other country.

The capital and chief port is Hamilton, which has a population of 1,000.

The colony consists of 138 small islands, of which 20 are inhabited.

Source Daily Express

No comments:

Post a Comment