Search This Blog

Sunday, 24 February 2013

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Stephen Tvrtko I (1338 – 1391) was crowned first King of Bosnia on October 27, 1377. Under his command Bosnia became the strongest power in the Balkans, conquering parts of what is today Serbia, Croatia and Montenegro.

Bosnia and Herzegovina was conquered by the Ottoman Empire in the second half of the 15th century. Later, at the Congress of Berlin in 1878, Austria-Hungary was given a mandate to occupy and govern Bosnia and Herzegovina.

After the Second World War, Yugoslavia became the Federal Peoples' Republic of Yugoslavia and Bosnia became an independent republic within it. Bosnia and Herzegovina declared its independence from Yugoslavia on March 1, 1992.

Inter-ethnic war erupted in Bosnia and Herzegovina after independence, in 1992. In March 1994, Muslims and Croats in Bosnia signed an agreement creating the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, narrowing the field of warring parties to two.

The three main ethnic groups in Bosnia and Herzegovina are Bosniak, Serb and Croat. In Bosnia and Herzegovina, the distinction between a Bosnian and a Herzegovinian is maintained as a regional, not an ethnic, distinction.

Along with a national government, Bosnia and Herzegovina has a second tier of government - the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and the Republika Srpska, which deals with internal affairs.

Tuzla is the economic, scientific, cultural, educational, health and tourist centre of northeast Bosnia. It derives its name from the word "tuz", the Turkish work for salt. Tuzla's salt comes from its salt water springs.

The official languages of Bosnia and Herzegovina are Bosnian, Serbian and Croatian.

Majority of the population in Bosnia and Herzegovina comprises of Muslims, followed by Orthodox, Catholics, Protestants and others.

The currency of Bosnia and Herzegovina is Marka.


No comments:

Post a Comment