Search This Blog

Sunday, 24 February 2013


Borneo is one of the Sunda Islands in the West Pacific and the third-largest island in the world with an area of 754,000 square kilometers/290,000 square miles.

It comprises the country of Brunei; the Malaysian territories of Sabah and Sarawak; and, occupying by far the largest part, the Indonesian territory of Kalimantan.

It was formerly under both Dutch and British colonial influence until Sarawak was formed in 1841. 

In the early 1950s, the World Health Organization parachuted around twenty live cats into Borneo after cities became overrun with rats.

A forest fire in early 1998 destroyed 11,583 square miles of forest.

Borneo's estimated population in 2000 was 15,969,500.

In coastal areas the people of Borneo are mainly of Malaysian origin, with a few Chinese, and the interior is inhabited by the indigenous Dyaks.

Source Hutchinson Encyclopedia © RM 2013. Helicon Publishing is division of RM


No comments:

Post a Comment