Search This Blog

Saturday, 30 April 2016

Mediterranean Sea

The Mediterranean Sea is the body of water that separates Africa, Asia and Europe. It covers an area of 965,000 sq miles (2.5 million sq km) and has an average depth of 4,900 feet (1,500 meters).

It was the superhighway of transport in ancient times. The Mediterranean allowed for trade and cultural exchange between peoples of the region — Phoenicians, Egyptians, Carthaginians, Greeks, Romans, and the Middle East (Arab/Persian/Semitic) cultures.

The Romans called the Mediterranean 'Mare Nostrum' (Our Sea).

The German architect Herman Sörgel (1885-1952) devoted his whole life to promote his grand scheme to drain the Mediterranean and unite Europe and Africa into one super continent. The plan was initially conceived as a solution to the economic and political turmoil gripping Europe in the early 20th century.

In 2008, artist Saimir Strati made his Homage to Mediterranean Life from 229,764 wine corks.

Being nearly landlocked affects the Mediterranean Sea's properties. Tides are limited by the narrow connection with the Atlantic Ocean. The water is saltier, partly because of evaporation.

The coast of the Mediterranean runs past 22 different countries.

The five largest islands in the Mediterranean are Sicily, Sardinia, Cyprus, Corsica and Crete. The only island nations in the Mediterranean are Cyprus and Malta.

Source Daily Express

No comments:

Post a Comment