Search This Blog

Sunday, 27 April 2014


The record for the longest-lived animal belongs to a quahog clam that was 507-years-old when it died in 2006.

The Deep Sea Clam of the North Atlantic takes around 100 years to reach the length of just one third of an inch..

The world’s largest clams weigh almost 500 pounds.

Once a giant clam picks a spot to live on a reef, it does not move for the rest of its life.

Clams feed on plankton by drawing in water containing food using an incurrent siphon. The food is then filtered out of the water by the gills and swept toward the mouth on a layer of mucus. The water is then expelled from the animal by an ex-current siphon.

Clams are considered non-kosher along with all other shellfish.

The clam shell has three layers. The top one is called mother-of-pearl because it is a coating of pearl material.

Clams do not have any of the five senses - smell, taste, sight, hearing, and feeling.

No comments:

Post a Comment