Search This Blog

Wednesday, 10 August 2016


Burma became an independent nation on January 4, 1948, initially as a democratic nation and then, following a coup d'état in 1962, a military dictatorship.

In 1989, the military government officially changed the name of the country from Burma to Myanmar. Accepting the name change in the English-speaking world has been slow, with many people still using the name Burma to refer to the country. Major news organizations like the BBC still call it Burma.

The capital also changed its name from Rangoon to Yangon but in 2006 moved to Nay Pyi Taw.

The current flag of Myanmar was adopted on October 21, 2010 to replace the former flag in use since 1974. The design of the flag has three horizontal stripes of yellow, green and red with a five-pointed white star in the middle. The three colors of the stripes are meant to symbolize solidarity, peace and tranquility, and courage and decisiveness.

Anti-modem laws restrict Internet access in the country of Myanmar. Illegal possession of a modem can lead to a prison term.

Myanmar is the largest country in South East Asia that is not an island.

The currency unit in Myanmar is the kyat which is divided into 100 pyas.

Myanmar is one of three countries that have not adopted metric units as its official system of measurement. The other two are Liberia and the USA.

No comments:

Post a Comment