Search This Blog

Sunday, 13 July 2014


In general it is agreed there are seven continents: Africa, Antarctica, Asia, Europe, North America, Oceania and South America.

The name of all the continents end with the same letter that they start with.

The speculation that continents might have 'drifted' was first put forward by Abraham Ortelius in 1596. The concept was independently and more fully developed by German geophysicist Alfred Wegener (1880-1930). He presented his Continental Drift hypothesis on January 6, 1912.

Antonio Snider-Pellegrini's Illustration of the closed and opened Atlantic Ocean (1858)

Istanbul in Turkey, is the only city in the world located on two continents.

Here is a list of songs with continents in the title.

No comments:

Post a Comment