Search This Blog

Sunday, 27 July 2014


Cornwall has the longest coastline of any English county, measuring about 433 miles.

The name Cornwall originates from the words “Cornovii” and “Waelas,” meaning hill dwellers and strangers.

Located in south-west England some say the name Somerset derives from Seo-mere-saetan meaning "settlers by the sea lakes".

Devon is the only county in Britain to have two coasts.

All states in the US are divided into counties, with two exceptions: Louisiana, which consists of parishes, and Alaska, which uses boroughs.

Four out of the five richest counties in the US are in the DC Metropolitan area.

The smallest county in America is New York County, better known as Manhattan.

The Los Angeles County in California has a higher population than 43 US states. It holds the same amount of people as the 1,171 smallest counties.

Texas is made up of 254 counties. The largest, Brewster, is bigger than Northern Ireland.

The Yukon-Koyukuk Census Area is a census area located in the state of Alaska.  It has the largest area of any county or county-equivalent in the United States and is roughly the same size as Germany.

No comments:

Post a Comment