Search This Blog

Saturday, 7 March 2015

French Language

French was the official language of England from 1066 until 1362.

Most English words ending with "tion" and "sion" originally came from the French language.

The Catholicon (from Greek Καθολικόν, meaning "universal") was published in Tréguier, Brittany, France on November 5, 1499. This Breton-French-Latin dictionary was written in 1464 by the Breton priest Jehan Lagadeuc. It was the first Breton dictionary as well as the first French dictionary.

About 220 million people speak French as a native or a second language.

French is the official language of Canada, Congo, Ivory Coast, Luxembourg, Monaco,  Niger and Switzerland.

French is the second language in New Hampshire, Louisiana, Maine and Vermont.

There are more people speaking French in Africa than in France.

A New Zealand man memorized the French dictionary to compete in a French Scrabble tournament. He won the tournament despite not speaking the language.

No comments:

Post a Comment