Search This Blog

Wednesday, 10 August 2011


The geographical areas now designated as Angola where first first entered into contact with the Portuguese in the late 15th century. Angola became a Portuguese colony in 1491 and an Overseas Territory of Portugal in 1951.

Angola's capital Luanda was founded on January 25, 1575 with one hundred families of settlers and four hundred soldiers.

Today approximately a third of the Angolans live there in Luanda. It is the world's third most populous Portuguese-speaking city, behind only São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro,

View of Luanda bay, February 2013. By Fabio Vanin 

The Angolan War of Independence started in 1961 when a protest by agricultural workers in Baixa de Cassanje, Portuguese Angola, turned into a revolt.

The Angolan War of Independence lasted from 1961 to 1975 when it finally won independence.

The national flag of Angola came into use at when Angola gained independence on November 11, 1975. It is split horizontally into an upper red half and a lower black half with an Emblem itself resting at the center.

Civil war followed the granting of full independence on November 11, 1975. The war continued on and off until a peace treaty was signed by The Angolan government and UNITA rebels on April 4, 2002. Approximately 500,000 people lost their lives in the civil war.

Decommissioned UNITA BMP-1 and BM-21 Grads at an assembly point. By Ernmuhl

No comments:

Post a Comment