Search This Blog

Wednesday, 27 July 2011


Adelaide was named after Queen Adelaide of England, (1792 to 1849). She was the wife of King William IV.

In 1836 a fleet of eight ships under John Hindmarsh, first Governor of South Australia, camped at Holdfast Bay. South Australia was officially proclaimed as a new British colony on December 28, 1836, near The Old Gum Tree in what is now the suburb of Glenelg North.

European settlers with Aborigines, 1850

The site of the colony's capital, Adelaide, was surveyed and laid out by Colonel William Light, the first Surveyor-General of South Australia, through the design made by the architect George Strickland Kingston.

Light was also was the surveyor of Christchurch, New Zealand and the two locations are sister cities.

In 2014, Adelaide had a metropolitan population of 1,304,631, making it Australia's fifth largest city

More than a quarter (27.5%) of Adelaide's population is aged 55 years or older, in comparison to the national average of 25.6%.

No comments:

Post a Comment