Search This Blog

Friday, 12 August 2011

Antigua and Barbuda

Antigua and Barbuda is a country comprising three islands in the eastern Caribbean (Antigua, Barbuda, and uninhabited Redonda).

Antigua was named by Christopher Columbus in 1493 in honour of St Maria La Antigua of Seville.

It became a British colony in 1667 and stayed under British rule until independence in 1981.

Lord Nelson was stationed in Antigua between 1784 and 1787. He described it as a 'dreadful hole' and a 'vile place'.

Sir Viv Richards, one of the greatest cricketers, was born in Antigua in March 1952.

Antigua and Barbuda became an independent state within the Commonwealth of Nations on November 1, 1981, with Elizabeth II as the first Queen of Antigua and Barbuda.

Antugua is the only known habitat of the Antiguan Racer, the rarest snake in the world with a population of about 200.

Source Daily Mail

No comments:

Post a Comment