Search This Blog

Sunday, 4 January 2015


England was named after a Germanic tribe called the "Angles", who settled in Central, Northern, and Eastern England in the 5th century. It is derived from the Old English Englaland, which means "land of the Angles".

The political unification of England was first accomplished under Æthelstan  when he conquered the last remaining Viking kingdom, York, in 927 and definitively established after further conflicts by Eadred in 953.

King Cnut (Canute) divided England into four earldoms: Wessex, Mercia, East Anglia and Northumbria in 1017.

Although the southern British were called ‘English’ in the 10th century, the word ‘England’ only came into use in the late 15th century.

An Act of Parliament declaring England a Commonwealth was passed by the Long Parliament on May 19, 1649.. England was a republic for the next eleven years.

The shortest war against England was with Zanzibar in 1896. Zanzibar surrendered after just 38 minutes.

Bath, the only entire city in England to be a World Heritage Site, was awarded that status largely because of its buildings and architecture.

A plaque was erected at Lindley Hall Farm, in Fenny Drayton, Leicestershire, to mark the centre point of England.

England is 74 times smaller than the USA.

England is smaller than New England.

No comments:

Post a Comment